These vehicles also fall under the 72-hour rule. For more information, please see
Show All Answers
If you have any questions regarding TSA firearm rules and regulations, contact their Customer Service Center.
Places as listed in the “Where can I / can’t I Open Carry?” FAQ apply to those who open carry. All School Property and Facilities used for school functions are off limits to those without a valid permit / license. The minimum age for Open Carry is 21. Read RCW 9.41.060 for exceptions to restrictions on carrying firearms. For more information on carrying in a vehicle, see RV / Car Carry Without a Permit (PDF).
Use your best judgement. If you live in a state that doesn’t require you inform the officer but in which the officer is likely to find out you have a permit when they access your driving record and/or registration then you may find it easiest to be the one who discloses the firearm up front instead of waiting for the officer to find out from a computer. Law enforcement officers hate surprises and the idea that you may have a gun and didn’t tell them about it is a not so fun surprise. For more details see RCW 9.41.050.
The non-emergency number for Pasco and Franklin County is 509-545-3510, also a 24/7 number.
If you need to reach the Kennewick Police Department business line, you can call 509-585-4208 Mon thru Friday 0830-0430. The business line is not for reporting incidents or speaking directly to an officer.
To leave a message for a specific officer, call the station at 509-585-4208 and a clerk will transfer you to the officer’s station phone.
If you want to file a complaint against an officer, call 509-585-4208. A clerk will transfer you to the on-duty supervisor.
Please contact the Washington State Patrol for anything occurring on the highways at 1-800-283-7803.
You may only apply to the city police department if you live within the city limits. Please apply at the county sheriff’s office if you live in the county. Renewal licenses and replacement licenses are handled in the same manner. If you live out-of-state, you may apply at any Washington state police department or sheriff’s office. We have sixty days to issue a license to a person who does not reside in the state of Washington and thirty days for Washington residents. Review more details on the Concealed Pistol Licensing page.
The Kennewick Police Department accepts applications for firearm dealer licenses Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 pm. The business must be in the incorporated areas of Kennewick. The applicant must provide a copy of their business license and Federal Firearm License.
The Kennewick Police Department offers fingerprinting services by appointment only at 211 W 6th Avenue, Kennewick, WA 99336. The fee is $21 for 2 print cards. Please call 509-585-4208 to schedule.
The Kennewick Police Department does not do Civil Stand-byes unless the Judge specifically states it in the Order that KPD will assist in retrieving your basic needs i.e.: clothing, personal hygiene items, medications or tools for work. This would not cover furniture, household items, food, etc.
Visit the local courts site for more information about Protection Orders.
To report a junk or abandoned vehicle on City property/roadway, you can use the Online Reporting Form (below), or call the Kennewick Police Department business line at 509- 585-4208, or go to the station at 211 W. 6th Avenue to fill out an abandoned vehicle form. The form is given to the Traffic Sergeant, who will assign someone to inspect and potentially tag the vehicle. The registered owner then must remove the vehicle within a short period of time, or it will be towed at their expense. If the vehicle is on private property, call 509-628-0333 and ask for an officer to inspect it. The officer must determine if it’s stolen or considered a hulk (hazard) abandoned vehicle.
Good Rule: If you run into a state that doesn’t share reciprocity with yours, store your unloaded firearm in a separate locked container apart from the ammunition in the trunk of your vehicle. That way, you can claim the Firearm Owners Protection Act. You can check at if a state honor your concealed carry license at USA Carry.
The Kennewick Police Department has a Medical Return drug collection unit in our front lobby. It is always locked so you must go to the front desk and ask for assistance. It is available during normal business hours of Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. This is for individual citizen use, not unused / outdated medication from businesses or clinics.